The Cervical Vertebrae


    (posterior)                                                                           (anterior)       (posterior)                                                                              (anterior)

                                                     (1) Pro-atlas                                    (6) Neural Spines

                                                     (2) Atlas                                          (7) Postzygapophysis

                                                     (3) Axis                                           (8) Prezygapophysis

                                                     (4) Cervical Ribs


The cervical column usually consists of nine vertebrae including the atlas and axis.  The atlas consists of four parts; a ventral (in this case not yet ossified), a dorsal (pro-atlas), and two lateral parts (described as the atlas).  Present on all cervical vertebrae are the presence of cervical ribs, which begin on the atlas and continue until they meet the sternum.


Home  ~  Overview  ~  The Skull  ~  Cervical Vertebrae  ~  Thoracic Vertebrae  ~ Lumbar Vertebrae ~ Sacral Vertebrae ~ Caudal Vertebrae ~ The Appendicular SkeletonThe Abdominal Ribs and Hyoid Arch  ~  References