The Sacral Vertebrae




(1) Neural Spines

(2) Pre-zygapophysis

(3) Sacral Rib

(4) Epipubis

(5) Ishium

(6) Illium

(7) Post-zygapophysis


The sacral vertebrae number in two.  The vertebrae are not as fused, therefore have pre and post-zygapophysises.  There is also a process that extends laterally from each vertebrae, but since they are not completely fused to the vertebrae, they are considered sacral ribs. 


Home  ~  Overview  ~  The Skull  ~  Cervical Vertebrae  ~  Thoracic Vertebrae  ~ Lumbar Vertebrae ~ Sacral Vertebrae ~ Caudal Vertebrae ~ The Appendicular SkeletonThe Abdominal Ribs and Hyoid Arch  ~  References